Gametes, Genotype, Phenotype

We like few-celled organisms, not bugs!
bwisialo

Gametes, Genotype, Phenotype

Post by bwisialo » Tue May 30, 2017 9:10 am

This topic has been moved here from another thread, beginning from this quote:
ShiN1GaM1 wrote:And 1 last idea, so I saw that you would implement gametocites, and in my understanding they would combine and inherit 1 of the parents modes (for each 1 of the 20 modes) I was imagining that the cell could store both 20 modes from the parents (genotype), but only 1 of them would be expressed, (phenotype), and them when the gametocite forms it only gets 1 of each mode randomly from the parent, then they (the 2 gametocites) fuse and the resulting cell has 40 modes but can only express 20 of them, chosing randomly from the "parent 1" or "parent 2".

I'm a graduating biologist, and I love evolution and all that has to do with that. So as you can imagine I loved this game! (o) (o)
The genotype / phenotype suggestion is very interesting. :) It should be in a different thread because it is a very different suggestion than the others discussed here.

I'm trying to imagine how exactly things play out differently on the scale of the substrate population in the long run if the genome has 20 expressed and 20 unexpressed modes. I guess it might create a more stable and exhaustive testing of the different settings in the gene pool.

There might be a problem with memory allocation if some genomes have 0 unexpressed modes (as they woild without gametes) and other genomes have 20 unexpressed modes, but I'm not entirely sure how yhose technical issues work.
amor fati
Nayus

Re: Square plates

Post by Nayus » Tue May 30, 2017 2:42 pm

You mean like a recessive gene right? I like this idea.
If I understood it right,an individual product of a Gamete would have one configuration but store both, and in the moment of reproducing its own gamete, it will try to transfer randomly 1 of both choices for each mode.