Page 1 of 1

Procedural Generation

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 1:02 pm
by Paulo_Fera.
I think this idea is the best I've had since I joined the forum !!!

just imagine, you're going to play on the experimental and want a random substrate

then you could have a button in the experiment called something like "doing random substrate" which when clicked will make a random substrate where you can do an oganism to survive on it.

What did you think of the idea?
Is she good or bad?
Did you want it on cell lab?
lol

Re: Procedural Generation

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:07 pm
by EliteMacro_37
I've been thinking about something similar too, now instead of "contaminate with random cell" we also add "contaminate with random organism" but only from what you selected fron the bank gene, however I found out that it's kinda "not an ASAP features" noe

Re: Procedural Generation

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:14 pm
by Paulo_Fera.
EliteMacro_37 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:07 pm
I've been thinking about something similar too, now instead of "contaminate with random cell" we also add "contaminate with random organism" but only from what you selected fron the bank gene, however I found out that it's kinda "not an ASAP features" noe
I did not understand anything,
I'm talking about a random substrate not of organisms

Re: Procedural Generation

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:25 pm
by EliteMacro_37
Paulo_Fera. wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:14 pm
EliteMacro_37 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:07 pm
I've been thinking about something similar too, now instead of "contaminate with random cell" we also add "contaminate with random organism" but only from what you selected fron the bank gene, however I found out that it's kinda "not an ASAP features" noe
I did not understand anything,
I'm talking about a random substrate not of organisms
Note that I say "something similar" it involves randomisation feature

Re: Procedural Generation

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:38 pm
by Paulo_Fera.
EliteMacro_37 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:25 pm


Note that I say "something similar" it involves randomisation feature
Lol

So what do you think of the main idea?

Re: Procedural Generation

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:13 pm
by EliteMacro_37
Paulo_Fera. wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:38 pm
EliteMacro_37 wrote:
Tue Dec 18, 2018 4:25 pm


Note that I say "something similar" it involves randomisation feature
Lol

So what do you think of the main idea?
For me it's a pretty good idea, However it's not an "must-ASAP" feature to be added

Re: Procedural Generation

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:08 pm
by MikPluis
You can just put a random value for every parameter

Re: Procedural Generation

Posted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 7:51 pm
by wapcaplet
I don't think this feature would be useful to me. A complete randomization of substrate settings would be hostile to so many forms of life - any amount of friction will kill most organisms, and any nitrate level below 0.20 will kill any without nitrocytes. On the other hand most of the available range for food and light intensity are excessive for most organisms.

It is much better to set up the substrate settings with specific values, depending on the kind of organism I want to evolve there. I don't see what good it would do to randomize them, except make it harder to set them back the way I want :-)