Shared Substrate Bug

Here anything Cell Lab related that doesn't fit into the other topics can be discussed.
Post Reply
User avatar
H4yw1r3
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:19 pm
Contact:

Shared Substrate Bug

Post by H4yw1r3 » Tue Jan 15, 2019 6:41 pm

With my device in hand (Huawei Y9) I tried accessing the newly shared organisms in the forum. Yes, it can indeed open them just to reveal to me that nothing is inside it. I truly believe that the creators of the organism won't lie and hand us a plate full of nutrients. After trying a couple of times, nothing new happened. Genome files work fine since I managed to transfer all my solutions to the other device.

Anyways, after a couple of tries I was convinced that it is a bug. Please do look into this Petter.

[What did you do to trigger the bug]
1. Go to the forums.
2. Find a link that provides a .substrate file
3. Access the file and open.
4. Wait for Cell Lab to load. (half a second or one second duration)
5. Empty substrate is presented.
Are complex creatures too advanced for you to understand?
Well, let me flood you with them.
User avatar
wapcaplet
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by wapcaplet » Wed Jan 16, 2019 12:12 am

Can you give an example or two of substrates that don't work? As in actual Dropbox links or such. There are hundreds if not thousands of user-shared substrates here, so an actual example would be more helpful than simply claiming none of anyone's substrates have any cells.
User avatar
H4yw1r3
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by H4yw1r3 » Wed Jan 16, 2019 6:30 am

The newly posted links in the Showcase Discussions will do as an example. i tried opening them yesterday and it opens up as if I created a brand new substrate, with absolutely nothing inside and settings in default.
Are complex creatures too advanced for you to understand?
Well, let me flood you with them.
User avatar
wapcaplet
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by wapcaplet » Wed Jan 16, 2019 8:22 pm

Do you have a link I can try?

For example, the substrates in the first post of each of these topics work perfectly for me:

topic - viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6571 - substrate: https://www.dropbox.com/s/4xgcerbol4g3l ... trate?dl=0
topic - viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6564 - substrate: https://www.dropbox.com/s/s1vvz875jn5sy ... trate?dl=0
topic - viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6561 - substrate: https://www.dropbox.com/s/yayvf9khr6pj0 ... trate?dl=0
User avatar
H4yw1r3
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by H4yw1r3 » Thu Jan 17, 2019 11:54 am

None of your examples worked. I have everything needed to load an organism with every cell in-game. There's no other reason on why it won't work. Dropbox's fine, Cell Lab's functionality's fine. All is fine except for accepting shared substrates.
Are complex creatures too advanced for you to understand?
Well, let me flood you with them.
User avatar
H4yw1r3
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by H4yw1r3 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:31 am

Hmm. Looks like the .genome files don't work now. .genome files extracted from the forum itself doesn't appear on the Genebank when accessed. Opening it again, twice, will only say "Genome already exists" even though I can't spot one in the Genebank that also has the same name tag.
Are complex creatures too advanced for you to understand?
Well, let me flood you with them.
User avatar
WhatTheSillyName
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by WhatTheSillyName » Wed Jan 23, 2019 11:54 am

Oh,
I am facing same problem too with my new phone (HTC U12 life).
Everything seems to be fine. But I can't open any substrate and genome from Dropbox and Google drive. Every time I do, it just show up the default substrate. I can't even open the downloaded file in my phone.
However, it is very weird that the document from VK can be opened normally. (Why???)
Ya~
User avatar
H4yw1r3
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by H4yw1r3 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:52 pm

I haven't vsited the forum hosted in VK for a while. I'll see if mine works there the next time I visit.
Are complex creatures too advanced for you to understand?
Well, let me flood you with them.
User avatar
H4yw1r3
Posts: 604
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by H4yw1r3 » Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:57 pm

Alright, mine works with VK as well. Files sent there can be opened.
Are complex creatures too advanced for you to understand?
Well, let me flood you with them.
User avatar
WhatTheSillyName
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 2:13 pm
Location: Hong Kong

Re: Shared Substrate Bug

Post by WhatTheSillyName » Thu Jan 24, 2019 5:45 am

H4yw1r3 wrote:
Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:57 pm
Alright, mine works with VK as well. Files sent there can be opened.
So strange...
Ya~
Post Reply