Loading old substrates, adhesin seems too loose

We like few-celled organisms, not bugs!
Post Reply
User avatar
wapcaplet
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:52 pm

Loading old substrates, adhesin seems too loose

Post by wapcaplet » Sun Dec 30, 2018 11:43 pm

There's an odd phenomenon I have noticed when loading some old substrates in the latest version (Android v103) of Cell Lab. Existing organisms are extra "floppy" as if their adhesin connections are too loose. However, newly-born organisms (or the same genomes copied/pasted in the microscope) have good, stiff adhesin.

This is most noticeable in this substrate by Alast:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/fq90li0gkue6q ... trate?dl=0

And this one by TragmatiS:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/tnouemv917nhm ... trate?dl=0

The predators seem to suffer the most, but the prey are affected too, with their cells sloshing around loosely. But again, it only seems to affect the fully developed organisms already there when the substrate is loaded. New eggs develop just fine.

Has anyone else noticed this? Is it a bug?
User avatar
wapcaplet
Posts: 363
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:52 pm

Re: Loading old substrates, adhesin seems too loose

Post by wapcaplet » Mon Dec 31, 2018 10:28 pm

Here's an old organism of mine that has the floppiness issue after conversion:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9kmzytywz93gn ... trate?dl=0
dragonfly1.png
dragonfly1.png (15.64 KiB) Viewed 126 times
dragonfly2.png
dragonfly2.png (16.62 KiB) Viewed 126 times
User avatar
H4yw1r3
Posts: 550
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Loading old substrates, adhesin seems too loose

Post by H4yw1r3 » Tue Jan 01, 2019 8:26 am

The bug is fairly noticeable.

So this could be the reason why my old substrates contain organisms that used to be efficient.
Are complex creatures too advanced for you to understand?
Well, let me flood you with them.
Post Reply